Meet Our Leadership Team

We are proud to have a diverse membership at SDCMS, one that reflects the distinct make–up of our San Diego County communities.



  • President: Nicholas (dr. Nick) J. Yphantides, MD, MPH
  • President–Elect: Steve Sang–Hyun Koh, MD, MPH, MBA
  • Secretary: Preeti S. Mehta, MD, MBBS
  • Treasurer: Maria T. Carriedo–Ceniceros, MD
  • Immediate Past President: Toluwalase (Lase) A. Ajayi, MD



  • East County #1: Catherine A. Uchino, MD
  • Hillcrest #1: Kyle P. Edmonds, MD
  • Hillcrest #2: Stephen R. Hayden, MD (Delegation Chair)
  • Kearny Mesa #1: Anthony E. Magit, MD, MPH
  • Kearny Mesa #2: Dustin H. Wailes, MD
  • La Jolla #1: Karrar H. Ali, DO, MPH (Board Representative to the Executive Committee)
  • La Jolla #2: David E.J. Bazzo, MD, FAAFP, CAQSM
  • La Jolla #3: Sonia L. Ramamoorthy, MD, FACS, FASCRS
  • North County #1: Arlene J. Morales, MD
  • North County #2: Christopher M. Bergeron, MD, FACS
  • North County #3: Nina Chaya, MD
  • South Bay #1: Paul J. Manos, DO
  • South Bay #2: Latisa S. Carson, MD, FACOG



  • #1: Rakesh R. Patel, MD, MBA, FAAFP, CPE
  • #2: Kelly C. Motadel, MD, MPH
  • #3: Irineo (Reno) D. Tiangco, MD
  • #4: Miranda R. Sonneborn, MD
  • #5: Daniel D. Klaristenfeld, MD, FACS
  • #6: Alexander K. Quick, MD
  • #7: Karl E. Steinberg, MD, FAAFP
  • #8: Alejandra Postlethwaite, MD



  • Young Physician: Emily A. Nagler, MD
  • Resident Physician: Alexandra O. Kursinskis, MD
  • Retired Physician: Mitsuo Tomita, MD
  • Medical Student: Jesse D. Garcia, Jr.



  • Immediate Past President: Robert E. Wailes, MD
  • Trustee: William T–C Tseng, MD, MPH
  • Trustee: Sergio R. Flores, MD
  • Trustee: Timothy A. Murphy, MD



  • District I: Mihir Y. Parikh, MD
  • District I Alternate: William T–C Tseng, MD, MPH
  • At–Large: Albert Ray, MD
  • At–Large: Robert E. Hertzka, MD
  • At–Large: Theodore M. Mazer, MD
  • At–Large: Kyle P. Edmonds, MD
  • At–Large: Holly B. Yang, MD, MSHPEd, HMDC, FACP, FAAHPM
  • At–Large Alternate: David E.J. Bazzo, MD, FAAFP, CAQSM
  • At–Large: Sergio R. Flores, MD
  • At–Large Alternate: Bing S. Pao, MD



  • District I: Steven L.W. Chen, MD, FACS, MBA
  • District I: Franklin M. Martin, MD, FACS
  • District I: Eric L. Rafla–Yuan, MD
  • District I: Peter O. Raudaskoski, MD
  • District I: Ran Regev, MD
  • District I: Kosala Samarasinghe, MD
  • District I: Thomas J. Savides, MD
  • District I: James H. Schultz, MD, MBA, FAAFP, FAWM, DiMM
  • District I: Mark W. Sornson, MD
  • District I: Wynnshang (Wayne) C. Sun, MD
  • District I: Patrick A. Tellez, MD, MHSA, MPH
  • District I: Randall J. Young, MD, FAAEM, FACEP, MMM
  • RFS Delegate: David J. Savage, MD, PhD