Meet Our Leadership Team

We are proud to have a diverse membership at SDCMS, one that reflects the distinct make-up of our San Diego County communities.


  • President: Holly B. Yang, MD
  • President-elect: Sergio R. Flores, MD
  • Secretary: Toluwalase (Lase) A. Ajayi, MD
  • Treasurer: Nicholas J. Yphantides, MD
  • Immediate Past President: James H. Schultz, MD

Geographic Directors

  • East County #1: Heidi M. Meyer, MD (Board Representative to the Executive Committee)
  • East County #2: Rakesh R. Patel, MD
  • Hillcrest #1: Kyle P. Edmonds, MD
  • Hillcrest #2: Steve H. Koh, MD (Board Representative to the Executive Committee)
  • Kearny Mesa #1: Anthony E. Magit, MD
  • Kearny Mesa #2: Alexander K. Quick, MD
  • La Jolla #1: Preeti Mehta, MD
  • La Jolla #2: David E.J. Bazzo, MD, FAAFP
  • North County #1: Patrick A. Tellez, MD
  • North County #2: Christopher M. Bergeron, MD, FACS
  • North County #3: Kelly C. Motadel, MD, MPH
  • South Bay #2: Maria T. Carriedo, MD

At-large Directors

  • #1: Thomas J. Savides, MD
  • #2: Paul J. Manos, DO
  • #3: Irineo "Reno" D. Tiangco, MD
  • #4: Miranda R. Sonneborn, MD
  • #5: Stephen R. Hayden, MD (Delegation Chair)
  • #6: Marcella (Marci) M. Wilson, MD
  • #7: Karl E. Steinberg, MD
  • #8: Alejandra Postlethwaite, MD

Additional Voting Directors

  • Young Physician Director: Brian Rebolledo, MD        
  • Retired Physician Director: Mitsuo Tomita, MD
  • Resident Director: Nicole Herrick, MD                              
  • Medical Student Director: Lauren Tronick

CMA Trustees

  • Robert E. Wailes, MD
  • William T-C Tseng, MD, MPH
  • Sergio R. Flores, MD

AMA Delegates and Alternate Delegates

  • District 1 AMA Delegate: James T. Hay, MD
  • District 1 AMA Alternate Delegate: Mihir Y. Parikh, MD
  • At-large AMA Delegate: Albert Ray, MD 
  • At-large AMA Delegate: Theodore M. Mazer, MD
  • At-large AMA Alternate Delegate: David E. J. Bazzo, MD, FAAFP
  • At-large AMA Alternate Delegate: Kyle P. Edmonds, MD
  • At-large AMA Alternate Delegate: Robert E. Hertzka, MD 
  • At-large AMA Alternate Delegate: Holly B. Yang, MD

CMA District I Delegates

  • Karrar H. Ali, DO
  • Steven L.W. Chen, MD, FACS, MBA
  • Susan  Kaweski, MD
  • Franklin M. Martin, MD
  • Vimal I Nanavati, MD, FACC, FSCAI
  • Peter O. Raudaskoski, MD
  • Allen Rodriguez, MD
  • Kosala Samarasinghe, MD
  • Mark W. Sornson, MD
  • Wayne C. Sun, MD