Friday, April 28, 2017


Meet Our Leadership Team

We are proud to have a diverse membership at SDCMS, one that reflects the distinct make-up of our San Diego County communities.


  • President: Mihir Y. Parikh, MD
  • President-elect: Mark W. Sornson, MD, PhD
  • Treasurer: James H. Schultz Jr., MD
  • Secretary: David E.J. Bazzo, MD
  • Immediate Past President: William T-C Tseng, MD, MPH

Return to Top

Geographic Directors

  • East County #1: Venu Prabaker, MD
  • East County #2: Kosala Samarasinghe, MD
  • East County #3: Jay P. Mongiardo, MD
  • Hillcrest #1: Gregory M. Balourdas, MD
  • Hillcrest #2: Thomas C. Lian, MD
  • Kearny Mesa #1: Sergio R. Flores, MD (Board Representative to Executive Committee)
  • Kearny Mesa #2: John G. Lane, MD
  • La Jolla #1: Geva E. Mannor, MD, MPH
  • La Jolla #2: Marc M. Sedwitz, MD, FACS
  • North County #1: Patrick A. Tellez, MD
  • North County #2: Eileen S. Natuzzi, MD
  • North County #3: Michael A. Lobatz, MD
  • South Bay #1: Irineo "Reno" D. Tiangco, MD
  • South Bay #2: Michael H. Verdolin, MD

Return to Top

Geographic Alternate Directors

  • East County: Susan Kaweski, MD
  • Hillcrest: Kyle P. Edmonds, MD
  • Kearny Mesa #1: Anthony E. Magit, MD
  • Kearny Mesa #2: Eileen R. Quintela, MD
  • La Jolla: Wayne C. Sun, MD
  • North County #1: Neelima V. Chu, MD
  • South Bay: Maria Carriedo, MD

Return to Top

At-large Directors

  • #1: Thomas J. Savides, MD
  • #2: Karrar H. Ali, DO, MPH
  • #3: Alexexandra E. Page, MD
  • #4: Nicholas J. Yphantides, MD
  • #5: Stephen R. Hayden, MD
  • #6: Peter O. Raudaskoski, MD
  • #7: Toluwalase (Lase) A. Ajayi, MD
  • #8: Holly B. Yang, MD (Board Representative to Executive Committee)

Return to Top

At-large Alternate Directors

  • #1: Karl E. Steinberg, MD
  • #2: Steven L-W Chen, MD, FACS, MBA
  • #3: Erin L. Whitaker, MD
  • #4: Al Ray, MD
  • #6: Vimal I. Nanavati, MD, FACC, FSCAI
  • #7: Carl A. Powell, DO
  • #8: Marcella (Marci) M. Wilson, MD

Return to Top

Additional Voting Directors

    • Communications Chair: J. Steven Poceta, MD
    • Young Physician Director: Edwin S. Chen, MD
    • Resident Physician Director: Michael C. Hann, MD
    • Retired Physician Director: Rosemarie M. Johnson, MD
    • Medical Student Director: David Li

     Return to Top

    Additional Non-voting Members

    • Alternate Young Physician Director: Heidi M. Meyer, MD
    • Alternate Resident Physician Director: Zachary T. Berman, MD
    • Alternate Retired Physician Director: Mitsuo Tomita, MD
    • SDCMS Foundation President: Albert Ray, MD (Delegation Vice Chair)
    • San Diego Physician Editor: James Santiago Grisolia, MD
    • Delegation Chair: Robert E. Peters, MD, PhD
    • CMA Past President: James T. Hay, MD
    • CMA Past President: Robert E. Hertzka, MD (Legislative Committee Chair)
    • CMA Past President: Ralph R. Ocampo, MD, FACS
    • CMA Speaker of the House: Theodore M. Mazer, MD

    Return to Top

    CMA Trustees

    • Robert E. Wailes, MD
    • William T-C Tseng, MD, MPH

    Return to Top

    AMA Delegates and Alternate Delegates:

    • District 1 AMA Delegate: James T. Hay, MD
    • District 1 AMA Alternate Delegate: Lisa Miller, MD
    • At-large AMA Delegate: Albert Ray, MD (appointed by CMA)
    • At-large AMA Delegate: Robert E. Hertzka, MD (appointed by CMA)
    • At-large AMA Alternate Delegate: Theodore M. Mazer, MD (appointed by CMA)

    Return to Top

    About          Leadership           Staff           Committees           Contact          Press           Advertise

    COPYRIGHT (C) 2013 SDCMS  •  5575 Ruffin Road, Suite 250, San Diego, CA 92123  •  T: (858) 565-8888  •  F: (858) 569-1334  •  E:


    Twitter  Facebook  Youtube

    Copyright (c) 2017 San Diego County Medical Society