Local News

Top Doctors 2019

The Marine Room

2019 ELECTION: MAY 6 — JUNE 17


The San Diego County Medical Society (SDCMS) invites you to participate in the selection process for “Physicians of Exceptional Excellence” — Top Doctors 2019.

The SDCMS leadership wishes this process, while not perfect, to be fair, open and honest for physician peers selecting the top 5% of active San Diego County physicians.

Several years ago we significantly improved the selection process to ensure a more proportionate representation between modes of practice — balancing the selectees between large groups and the solo, small and medium practices. But if you don’t vote, the process improvements won’t help.

Furthermore, we’ve simplified the process by utilizing one ballot that lists every physician who holds a valid California medical license practicing in San Diego County.

The election is fully compatible with mobile devices. You may use your phone or tablet to view and cast your ballot anytime, anywhere.

When making your selections, we ask you to consider the following:

  • Vote for at least 4 physicians in your specialty
  • Select physicians you would personally see or refer patients to
  • Select physicians who exhibit excellence in leadership, teaching/research and humanitarian services

You may select up to 10 physicians.



  • Log in using your case-sensitive password, which was sent to you
    ⚞ If you cannot locate your password, CLICK HERE to retrieve it ⚟
  • You will be directed to a webpage which includes a list of every physician who holds a valid California medical license practicing in San Diego County, and where you may search for physicians by surname
  • Before voting cross-specialty, select physicians of exceptional excellence in your own specialty first
    ⚞ i.e., someone you would take a close family member to if he or she was in need of that specialist ⚟


  • Enter your identifying information where prompted
  • If your record is on file and identity is validated, you will receive voting instructions and your password

The balloting process represents our effort at a transparent, auditable, and fair means of identifying physicians other physicians trust for their clinical skills. To ensure a representative selection, we strongly encourage and request that everyone take the five minutes or fewer to vote.

Your electronic ballot or mail-in ballot (if requested) must be received no later than 11:59 PM on Monday, June 17, 2019. Please email SDCMS’ Director of Finance and Membership, Brandon Ethridge, at Brandon.Ethridge@SDCMS.org or call him at (858) 300-2778 should you experience any difficulty voting electronically.

If you are a member of SDCMS and unable to use the Internet to vote, please indicate that you desire a hardcopy ballot by emailing SDCMS@SDCMS.org. A paper ballot will be mailed to you with the appropriate security precautions. No faxed ballots will be accepted. Non-SDCMS members must use the Internet to vote.

If you suspect that there are errors on the ballot — either the failure to list a physician you feel might be eligible or the listing of a physician you feel is not in active practice — please also email Brandon Ethridge immediately with any inputs, suggestions, or comments. Those errors reported to SDCMS and confirmed, within the first two weeks of voting, will be corrected on the ballot.


Comments are closed.