Local News

Top Doctors 2016

Top Doctors 2016 Election: May 9 – June 20


The San Diego County Medical Society (SDCMS) invites you to participate in the selection process for “Physicians of Exceptional Excellence” — Top Doctors 2016.

The SDCMS leadership wishes the selection process, while not perfect, to be fair, open, and honest for physician peers selecting the top 5% of active San Diego County physicians.

Three years ago, we significantly improved the selection process to ensure a more proportionate representation between modes of practice, balancing the selectees between very large groups and the solo, small, and medium practices. But if you don’t vote, the process improvements won’t help.

This year we have simplified the process even more by switching to one ballot that lists every physician who holds a valid California medical license practicing in San Diego County. Since individual specialty ballots have been eliminated, we ask that you select four (4) of your allotted 10 votes to physicians from your specialty to assure that your specialty is represented in the results.


SDCMS Member Physicians: Click Here to Vote:

  • Log in using your password, which was sent to you (if you cannot find your password, click here to retrieve it).
  • You will be taken to a webpage that will include every physician who holds a valid California medical license practicing in San Diego County.
  • First, select physicians of exceptional excellence — i.e., someone you would take a close family member to if he or she was in need of that specialist — in your specialty.

Nonmember Physicians: Click Here to Register to Vote:

  • After entering identifying information, and if your record is on file, you will receive voting instructions and your password.

The ballot process, while not perfect, represents our effort at a transparent, auditable, and fair means of identifying physicians other physicians trust for their clinical skills.

To ensure a representative selection, we strongly encourage and request that everyone take the five minutes or fewer to vote.

If you are a member of SDCMS and unable to use the Internet to vote, please indicate that you desire a hardcopy ballot by emailing SDCMS@SDCMS.org. A paper ballot will be mailed to you with the appropriate security precautions. No faxed ballots will be accepted. Non-SDCMS members must use the Internet to vote.

Your e-ballot or mail-in ballot (if requested) must be received no later than 11:59pm on Monday, June 20, 2016. If you have any problems e-voting, please email SDCMS’s COO / CFO, James Beaubeaux, at James.Beaubeaux@SDCMS.org or call him at (858) 300-2788.

If you suspect that there are errors on the ballot — either the failure to list a physician you feel might be eligible or the listing of a physician you feel is not in active practice — please immediately email SDCMS’s CEO, Paul Hegyi, with any inputs, suggestions, or comments at Hegyi@SDCMS.org, or call him at (916) 215-9842. Those errors reported to SDCMS and confirmed within the first two weeks of voting will be corrected on the ballots.

Comments are closed.