Local News

Richard Thorp, MD, Installed as 146th President of CMA

October 14. 2013

Richard Thorp, MD, FACP, was installed as the 146th president of the California Medical Association (CMA) at the close of the association’s 2013 House of Delegates, held in Anaheim last weekend.

Dr. Thorp, an internist from Paradise, California, developed an interest in health policy and advocacy while serving as president of Butte Glenn Medical Society in 1994, the year of the Clinton health reform.

Dr. Thorp continued a leadership role in organized medicine in 1995, serving on CMA’s Committee on Managed Care and subsequently on the Committee on Medical Services. He was the chair of the Committee on Medical Services for 10 years and, since 2008, has served as consultant to the committee.

“I will not compromise the honor of this profession for the victory of the moment. I will not capitulate or surrender. I will fight to protect this profession you hold so dear,” Dr. Thorp said as he addressed the nearly 500 physician delegates in attendance at the annual meeting. “In this critical time, the house of medicine cannot afford to do business as usual. We cannot afford the status quo. We must come with the audacity to create a dream and a vision for the future of medicine and health care in California.”

Dr. Thorp is the president / CEO of Paradise Medical Group, Inc., a physician-owned, multi-specialty primary care group incorporated in 2001. He is also on the active medical staff of Feather River Hospital and divides his time between a private general internal medicine practice and service as a medical director of a rural health clinic and private practice administration.

“A trusted colleague and dedicated physician, I could not be handing the reins over to a more capable, committed doctor to lead the CMA into 2014,” said Paul R. Phinney, MD, immediate past president of CMA. “Physicians across California should know that Dr. Thorp will be the best kind of advocate on a wide range of issues, ensuring patient safety and the preservation of our honorable profession.”

Dr. Thorp was elected to the CMA board of trustees in 2009 and is an alternate delegate to the American Medical Association House of Delegates, representing a portion of Northern California.

Also serving with Dr. Thorp on CMA’s 2013–2014 Executive Committee are:

  • Immediate Past President: Paul R. Phinney, MD
  • President-elect: Luther F. Cobb, MD
  • Speaker of the House: Theodore M. Mazer, MD
  • Vice Speaker of the House: Lee T. Snook, MD
  • Chair of the Board of Trustees: Steven E. Larson, MD
  • Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees: David H. Aizuss, MD

The California Medical Association represents more than 38,000 physicians in all modes of practice and specialties. CMA is dedicated to the health of all patients in California.

Comments are closed.